Our favorite Easter book: The Country Bunny

April 3, 2012 at 9:18 am 6 comments

My very favorite Easter book–and one of the most meaningful children’s books at any time, really–is The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes. I remember reading it as a child and loving the story and the illustrations. I was lucky enough to find a garage sale copy last year and I snatched it up for probably $.25. Such a great find! For the past week, we’ve read it about twice a day and Wren will often pick it up and “read” it herself. It’s such an inspiring story for children and as a Mom I’m also getting a whole new level of meaning out of it.

It’s quite a timeless feminist story, but it’s still hard to believe it was written in 1939! Have you read it? If you haven’t, you should pick it up. The basic story is of a female bunny who wants to be one of the chosen Easter Bunnies, but is told that she’s just a brown country bunny and could never be chosen; all the chosen ones are white, male and strong. She goes on to brilliantly raise 21 bunnies of her own, teaching them each an important life skill like mending and sewing clothes, painting, singing, sweeping, cooking, washing dishes, and working in the garden. Her hard work, perseverance, diligence, and thoughtful bunny-rearing is rewarded in the end as she IS chosen to be one of the Easter Bunnies. I won’t spoil the rest of the story for you… but man, is that Mother Cottontail an inspiration! I tear up a bit when I read the story with my little bunnies too.

What’s your favorite Easter story that you like to read with your bunnies?

Click to purchase your copy of The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes. Makes a GREAT gift too!

Entry filed under: kids books. Tags: , , , , .

five months Hand-print bunnies

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. leelanauchoir  |  April 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    We also love the Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes!

    Another of our spring favorites is The Sun Egg by Elsa Beskow. We love those old classics!

    Reply
  • 2. lisa  |  April 3, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Oh my gosh, I completely forgot about that book. I remember reading it with my mom and her crying every time. We’re at my parents’ house so I will have to look around and see if I can find it. We’ve been reading lots of Peter Rabbit and Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, which is not Easter-related at all, but another oldie that we’ve rediscovered while at my parents’.

    Reply
  • 3. Hand-print bunnies « squirrels in wren's nest  |  April 4, 2012 at 7:40 am

    […] for a last minute Easter card or decoration. The brown one below Wren said today was our esteemed Country Bunny. She painted my hand and stamped it on the paper. I have to admit, usually hand-print based […]

    Reply
  • 4. Easter Buckets! | Be Squirrely  |  March 13, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    […] arrival of the buckets was the catalyst for some decorating and some crafting and some reading of my favorite Easter story. And A LOT of talk about the beloved magic seeds. We’re all wondering how they might grow in […]

    Reply
  • 5. Teresita  |  August 4, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Definitely consider that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to
    be on the internet the easiest factor to take into account of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst other people consider issues
    that they just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other people can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

    Reply
  • […] I wrote about it two years ago in this post. It is a true classic with a wonderful message. If you don’t have a copy in your library, you should. Click on the book link above to order the special edition through Amazon. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


loves

good coffee, fresh snow, Lake Michigan in August, swimming pools, marzipan, babies & puppies, maps, Scandinavian design, learning, ashtanga yoga, color, zinfandel, postcards, succulents, new pencils, collecting old globes, digging in the dirt. My favorite German words: Quatsch u. Balaststoffe.

Find me on Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Contact me!

Please send rants, tips, ideas, ponderings, and more to besquirrely at gmail dot com

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 364 other subscribers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other subscribers